Showing posts with label Illustrator. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Illustrator. Show all posts

Monday, June 22, 2015

10 Distressed Vector Halftone Patterns for Illustrator

In last week’s vector illustration tutorial I used my free set of distressed halftone patterns to add cool screentone effects to my artwork in Photoshop, then I thought; Why not create a similar set of patterns but in vector format to allow the same distressed halftone effects to be added directly in Adobe Illustrator? So I’ve been working hard to create this new set of free halftone patterns in the same distressed styling, but this set makes use of Illustrator swatches to allow the effects to be scaled to any size, keeping your artwork 100% vector.



10 Free Distressed Vector Halftone Patterns


This free set of distressed halftone patterns for Adobe Illustrator contains 10 seamless vector swatches that can be applied as fills to add retro comic book style print effects to your illustrations. There’s a range of dot pattern densities so you can effectively shade your designs by using the different pattern fills across your artwork. Unlike your typical halftone pattern with clean, perfectly formed circles, these patterns have a distressed style to give your designs that grungy rock poster vibe.


How to use the vector halftone patterns


Vector halftone pattern swatches


Open up the AI file from the download. You’ll find a series of squares with the pattern swatches applied. Copy and paste these elements into your own documents to transfer the fills into the Swatches panel.


Applying the vector halftone pattern fills


These pattern swatches can then be applied as a fill to your shapes. Overlay a duplicate of the shape with the halftone pattern onto a normal fill to retain the colour of your design.


Scaling vector halftone patterns


One cool feature of these vector patterns is the ability to scale them. Check the Transform Patterns option in the Object > Transform > Scale window to alter the size.


Using vector halftone patterns wih the blob tool


These patterns also work great with the Blob tool. Set up a halftone pattern fill, then paint across your design to apply awesome comic book screentone style shading.


Vector halftone pattern tiling glitch


You might see some awful tiling between the more dense patterns, but this is just a visual glitch in Illustrator. Export your artwork as a PNG with Art Optimized Anti-Aliasing to eliminate this problem.


Download the free distressed halftone patterns 7mb


The post 10 Distressed Vector Halftone Patterns for Illustrator appeared first on Blog.SpoonGraphics.





10 Distressed Vector Halftone Patterns for Illustrator

Monday, May 25, 2015

8 Free Stipple Shading Brushes for Adobe Illustrator

I’ve been admiring some beautiful illustrations and examining the techniques the artists use to add details to their work. One popular shading method I’ve noticed is particularly prominent in apparel design and illustrations with a retro vibe is the use of stippling, where fine vector textures are added to build up tones and shade in areas of darkness. After seeing how effective this technique is, I created my own set of Illustrator scatter brushes to provide myself and my readers the tools required to create this effect. Download this free pack of 8 stipple shading brushes to easily paint grungy details onto your artwork with Illustrator’s brush tool.



8 Free Stipple Shading Illustrator Brushes


These free stipple shading brushes for Adobe Illustrator are perfect for adding grainy details to your illustrations. This popular shading technique gives your artwork a vintage tattoo or retro style comic book effect by building up tones with tiny vector textures. There’s 8 different scatter brushes available, ranging from light grain to heavy stipples with variances in spacing so you can find the best brush for your project.


How to use the Stipple Shading brushes


Illustrator


My favourite technique for using these stipple shading brushes is with a Clipping Mask. Use the Pen tool to trace an area of your illustration on a new layer, then activate the Draw Inside mode from the bottom of the toolbar.


Adding texture with Stipple Shading brushes


Grab the brush tool, then select one of the Stipple Shading brushes from the library. Go ahead and paint over your artwork to build up the tones with lots of tiny vector textures.


Troll illustration with stipple shading


You can increase or decrease the size of the stipples by adjusting the stroke weight, which helps control the density and grain size to suit your project.


Download the Free Stipple Shading Brushes 17mb


The post 8 Free Stipple Shading Brushes for Adobe Illustrator appeared first on Blog.SpoonGraphics.





8 Free Stipple Shading Brushes for Adobe Illustrator

Friday, May 8, 2015

Learn The Trick to Creating Seamless Patterns in Illustrator

We’re teaming up with Skillshare to bring you some fantastic premium design tutorials. In this post, you’ll see an excerpt from Bonnie Christine’s class on surface pattern design. She’ll teach you how to quickly and easily create seamless, repeating patterns in Adobe Illustrator.


If you’ve ever tried to make a seamless pattern on your own, you know that it’s a tricky task. Bonnie’s method is so simple though, you won’t believe how quickly you can make awesome vector patterns.



This is just a small sample of Bonnie’s awesome full course on pattern creation. Head over to Skillshare to view the other videos.


Popular Patterns


   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   



getpaidtowrite-banner
Learn The Trick to Creating Seamless Patterns in Illustrator

Tuesday, May 5, 2015

How To Create a Vintage Text Effect in Illustrator

We’re going to take inspiration from 19th century typography for today’s vintage text effect tutorial. We’ll use Adobe Illustrator to add detailed decorations to a basic word to transform it into a beautiful piece of engraved typography. The process makes use of lots of useful Illustrator techniques, such as offset path, blends and the Pathfinder tool. Follow along to give your text and logos the old west type treatment.



How To Create a Vintage Text Effect in Illustrator


The text effect we’ll be producing in this tutorial takes inspiration from typography of the 1800s. Type would often be given a three dimensional appearance and shading would be produced with detailed lines as part of the engraving process. We can use those characteristics to replicate the effect in vector format, using Illustrator’s powerful tools to manipulate the shape of the letters.



Open up Adobe Illustrator and type out your logo wording in a cool vintage style typeface. I’m using the beautiful Appleton font that I picked up from a recent fonts deal. Give the text a white fill.



Illustrator is most powerful when you’re working with solid shapes. Right click and select Create Outlines to permanently convert the text into paths.



One way to add an outline to the text would be to apply a stroke, but a quicker technique to create a solid outline is to go to Object > Path > Offset Path. Enter 2mm in the options, then give the new outline a black fill.



Offset paths are always grouped with the original shape, so select the text, right click and select Ungroup from the menu.



Select all the original text letters while holding Shift, then add another offset path. This time enter -2mm to create a new path inside the text.



Give this new inset path a 2pt black stroke. You can see how this path creates a series of decorative shapes that we can use to replicate the characteristics of vintage type.



Press CMD+C to Copy the inset stroke shapes, then press CMD+F to paste in a duplicate. Switch the black stroke to a fill, then go to Object > Compound Path > Make.



Select the Line tool and draw a 1pt horizontal line above the text. Hold the Alt key to drag a duplicate of the line underneath the text, then increase the stroke weight of this line to 5pt.



With both lines selected, head to Object > Blend > Make, then go directly back to Object > Blend > Blend Options.



In the Blend Options panel, change the dropdown menu to Specified Steps, then alter the number to produce a series of nicely spaced lines.



The blended lines will need to be converted so we can work with them. Go to Object > Expand to firstly convert the object into a series of strokes.



Head back to Object > Expand and hit OK again to convert the strokes into solid rectangle shapes.



Right click and select Ungroup to break apart the collection of rectangles, followed by the shortcut CMD+8 (or Object > Compound Path > Make), so they will cooperate when they’re used with the Pathfinder tool.



Carefully select the black inset shapes we created earlier and press CMD+C to copy them to the clipboard. Add the new collection of lines to the selection, then click the Intersect option from the Pathfinder window to clip the lines to fit within the inset shapes.



Paste in two sets of those black filled inset shapes using the shortcut CMD+F, then nudge the top set down and right a few times using the keyboard cursor keys. Select both sets then click the Minus Front option from the Pathfinder panel to trim them to size and create an inner shadow effect.



Hold Shift and select all of the main outline shapes. Click the Unite option from the Pathfinder panel to merge them together. This might affect the stacking order, so hit CMD+Shift+[ to send them to the back.



Press CMD+C to copy this outline shape, then press CMD+B to Paste Behind. Hold Shift and nudge the duplicate down and right to form a drop shadow effect.



With both outline shapes selected, go to Object > Blend > Make. The existing settings should create a smooth transition between the two shapes, filling in any gaps.



Convert this blend effect by going to Object > Expand. The blend is made from lots of instances of this shape, so it might be a little CPU intensive.



Immediately Unite these shapes using the Pathfinder tool to blend all the individual pieces into one shape.



The outline path of this shape might need tidying up a little to remove some of those unnecessary points. Go to Object > Path > Simplify and enter 99% for the Curve Precision. This will retain the shape of the path but will dramatically reduce the number of points.



All of our logo/typography is made of solid shapes, with the exception of the inset strokes. Zoom in and carefully select them all while holding the Shift key, then go to Object > Expand.



We can now easily change the colour scheme of the text by selecting a black shape, then going to Select > Same > Fill Color. All the black elements can now be given a different colour fill.



Select a white element and go to Select > Same > Fill Color to change the fill of all the other elements.



No vintage style design would be complete without some texturing! Draw a selection around all the elements and press CMD+G to Group them. In the Transparency panel click the Make Mask button, then select the thumbnail on the right to activate the mask.



Download my Vector Dust & Scratches Textures and paste one of the textures into the mask. Scale it to size and give it a black fill. Click on the left thumbnail to exit out of mask mode to see the texturing in full effect.


How To Create a Vintage Text Effect in Illustrator


The final result really captures the characteristics of 19th century vintage type, especially the inset effect with the blended lines. It’s great how that inset path intersects itself to naturally produce a series of decorative shapes that flow perfectly within the text outline.


Download the source file


The post How To Create a Vintage Text Effect in Illustrator appeared first on Blog.SpoonGraphics.





How To Create a Vintage Text Effect in Illustrator